PRINCIPALS:  Please Share These Minutes with Your Athletic Director

Regular Meeting of PIAA District 6 – October 4, 2005


Call to Order of the October 4, 2005, Meeting

Chairman Wotkowski called the meeting of the District 6 Committee to order at 3:30 PM at the Hollidaysburg Area Senior High School. Present were: Raymond Wotkowski, Dean Rossi, Albert D’Ambrosia, David Crumrine, Don Hosterman, Vince Nedimyer, Alberta Ake, Gary Jubas, Norman Krumenacker, Thomas Kakabar, Susan Werner, Kenneth Bussard, James Price, Craig Butler, Kathy Getz, Kim Struble and Michael Hudak.


Approval of Minutes

On a motion by David Crumrine and James Price, the minutes of the September 8, 2005 were approved. There were two corrections to the September minutes:  Josh Conti’s eligibility was tabled until the October meeting and Justin Baumgardner was granted eligibility.



Michael Hudak and Kathy Getz reviewed the below-listed disqualification forms.  It has been brought to the attention of the District 6 Committee that the PIAA Sportsmanship Code is not being promoted enough.  It is the intent  of the Committee that the PIAA Sportsmanship Code be emphasized aggressively among the schools.  Please see to it that your school actively cooperates.


FB                          Blairsville                               Asst. Coach                          2nd unsporting profanity

FB                           Blairsville                               Head Coach                          3rd sideline violation

FB                           Saltsburg                               Player                                     unsporting

JVFB                       Bishop McCort                     Player                                     2nd unsporting profanity

JHFB                      Johnstown                            Player                                     unsporting kicked opponent

G Soc                      Huntingdon                          Player                                     unsporting profanity

B Soc                      Cambria Heights                   Player                                     unsporting violent hit

B Soc                      Lewistown                             Player                                     unsporting violent hit

B JVSoc                 Altoona                                 Player                                     unsporting violent hit      


Chairman Wotkowski received a letter from Randy Wilson requesting that the District 6 Committee consider separate races for the District 6 and District 5 Cross Country Championships.  On a motion by Norman Krumenacker and Susan Werner, the Cross Country Championship will be split.


A motion was made by Craig Butler and Vince Nedimyer to have Chairman Wotkowski contact the Principal of Blairsville High School regarding an incident that occurred at the Blairsville vs. United football game. 


On a motion by Albert D’Ambrosia and Kenneth Bussard, Chairman Wotkowski will contact Blacklick Valley regarding comments the coach made to a newspaper reporter.


On a motion by Kenneth Bussard and Thomas Kakabar, the District 6 will expand to a 16-team format in Class A football playoffs for the next two-year cycle.


Chairman Wotkowski received a letter from newspaper writer regarding an incident with an official.  On a motion by Thomas Kakabar and Gary Jubas, Michael Hudak, Male Official Representative, will contact the involved parties.


Susan Werner and Dean Rossi made a motion to allow Saltsburg and Blairsville to form a cooperative sponsorship in the sport of Boys and Girls Track and Field.


Included with these minutes is an application for registration for official examination.  This application must be filed in the PIAA Office at least ten (10) business days prior to the examination date to be eligible to take the officials’ examination.


Financial Reports

On a motion by Kathy Getz and Alberta Ake, the District 6 Committee unanimously approved the September Financial Report.


Thomas Orr from Young, Oakes, Brown & Co., P.C. presented the audit report for approval.  On a motion by Dean Rossi and Vince Nedimyer, the Committee accepted the audit report for the year ending June 30, 2005.  On a motion by David Crumrine and Craig Butler, the Committee accepted the bid proposal for a three-year contract with Young, Oakes, Brown & Co., P.C.


B & B Screen Printing & Embroidery and Specialty Promotions submitted bids for the t-shirts, hats and hooded sweatshirts.  On a motion by Norman Krumenacker and Craig Butler, the bid was awarded to B & B Screen Printing and Embroidery from Clymer, PA. 


On a motion by Gary Jubas and Susan Werner, Sherry Montgomery will be paid for additional hours that were required as part of the auditing process.


On a motion by Don Hosterman and Vince Nedimyer, the website coordinator fee will be increased to $1400.00.


Eligibility Hearings

Based on the consensus of the sending and receiving principals’ signature the eligibility transfers  listed below were approved with the corresponding motions.


On a motion by Albert D’Ambrosia and Norman Krumenacker, Josh Conti was granted eligibility to participate in football at Homer Center based on Article III, Attendance, Section 3 with a 17-0 vote. 


On a motion by Vince Nedimyer and Michael Hudak, Matthew Roesch was granted eligibility to participate in basketball at Bishop Guilfoyle based on Article III, Transfer and Residence, Section 8 with a 17-0 vote. 


Foreign Exchange Eligibility Hearings

The following students have a J1 VISA and were approved to participate in sports on a motion from Susan Werner and Kathy Getz:

      Rafal Olak                            Poland                      State College Football

        Tatijana Kaulitz                  Germany                  State College Tennis

        Weibke Reuter                    Germany                  Westmont                     Cross Country

        Nora Tintner                       Germany                  Conemaugh Valley      

        Mariya Vezenicheva          Russia                      Ligonier Valley             Soccer

        Corolina Schievenini         Mexico                     Bishop Guilfoyle          Tennis, Swimming

        Michele Corbucci               Italy                          Williamsburg

        Charlotte Heiner                 Netherlands            West Branch                 Volleyball


The Next Meeting

The next meeting of the PIAA District 6 Committee will be held on

Tuesday, November 8, 2005, at the Hollidaysburg Area High School at 3:30 PM.


Respectfully Submitted,

                                                                                                Sherry I. Montgomery