PRINCIPALS:  Please Share These Minutes with Your Athletic Director

Regular Meeting of PIAA District 6 – April 22, 2010


Call to Order of the April 22, 2010, Meeting

Chairman Wotkowski called the meeting of the District 6 Committee to order at 4:00 PM at the Blair County Convention Center. Present were: Raymond Wotkowski, Kenneth Bussard, Ralph Cecere Jr., Kim Hubler, Thomas Kakabar, Dean Rossi, David Crumrine, Charles Glasser, Donald Hosterman, Michael Hudak, William Marshall, James Price, Kenneth Salem, Curtis Whitesel and Alberta Ake.  Melissa Mertz and Michael Mastovich were guests.


Approval of Minutes

On a motion by James Price and Kenneth Bussard, the minutes from the March 9, 2010 meeting were approved.


Financial Reports

On a motion by Ralph Cecere and Curtis Whitesel, the Committee unanimously approved the March 2010 Financial Report.


On a motion by Kim Hubler and William Marshall, the Committee approved to reimburse District 6 schools, from the basketball revenue, for the presale of tickets that were sold for the basketball championships games.


On a motion by Dean Rossi and Alberta Ake the Committee approved the basketball financial report presented by Thomas Kakabar.


On a motion by Dean Rossi and Kenneth Salem the Committee approved the wrestling financial reports presented by Donald Hosterman.



Good sportsmanship is something that is taught, modeled and reinforced.  

Michael Hudak reviewed the below-listed disqualification forms: 


V Baseball             Penn Cambria           Player                 malicious slide contact

V Baseball             Central Mountain     Player                 unsporting comments

JH Softball            Central Mountain     Player                 running into the catcher


Eligibility Hearings

On a motion by Thomas Kakabar and James Price, Ty Harrison, transferring from Penn Cambria to Bishop Carroll, was granted eligibility to participate in football at Bishop Carroll, with a vote of 14-0.


On a motion by David Crumrine and Curtis Whitesel, John Follansbee, transferring from Mercersburg Academy to Westmont, was granted eligibility to participate in soccer at Westmont with a vote of 14-0.


On a motion by William Marshall and Ralph Cecere, Ryan Shultz, transferring from Blacklick to Central Cambria, was granted eligibility to participate in football at Central Cambria with a vote of 14-0.


On a motion by Thomas Kakabar and Michael Hudak, Curtis McClain, transferring from Burrell to Johnstown, was granted eligibility to participate in football at Johnstown with a vote of 14-0.


On a motion by Kenneth Bussard and Donald Hosterman, Brandon Thompson, transferring from Altoona to Bellwood Antis, was granted eligibility to participate in football at Bellwood Antis with a vote of 14-0.


Foreign Exchange Eligibility Hearings

On a motion by Alberta Ake and Kenneth Bussard, the following foreign exchange students having the proper documents were approved to participate in sports. 

            Ananya Kothe             Bald Eagle Area                   India                   Track  

            Svenja Brauer              Juniata Valley                      Germany           

            Lisa Schubert              Juniata Valley                      Germany            Softball



The District 6 Committee received a thank you note from Rick Young who has served  D-6 as a basketball referee and rules interpreter for many years.  Rick is retired and now resides in Myrtle Beach.  We wish him the best!


The family of Jack Bailey sent a thank you to The District Committee for their contribution to the Jack Bailey Memorial Scholarship Fund.  Jack Bailey was a friend to many as a coach and most recently as a representative for coaches to the PIAA Board of Directors.


A motion was made by Curtis Whitesel and David Crumrine to award four (2 male/2 female) sportsmanship scholarships.  The motion passed with a vote of 14-0.


Chairman Wotkowski received a letter from Philipsburg-Osceola requesting approval to form a cooperative agreement with West Branch for the sport of boys soccer.  The request was approved with a vote of 14-0.



Tournament directors reported updates to the Committee for baseball, softball, track and tennis.  If you have any questions regarding any of these sports you can contact the tournament directors listed in the D-6 Handbook.


Annual Banquet

The Annual Membership Banquet was held at the Blair County Convention Center in Altoona, at 6:00.  Chairman Wotkowski was the Master of Ceremony, welcomed guests and introduced the District 6 Committee Members. Ray Wotkowski read the invocation, which was provided by Father James Conrad, who was unable to attend.  Melissa Mertz reviewed the proposed amendments to the PIAA Constitution.  Michael Mastovich, of the Johnstown Tribune Democrat, was the guest speaker.  Mike’s message was well-received as he reflected on his role as a reporter, shared some special moments and provided an overview of his experiences over the years.  We certainly appreciate Mike’s willingness to share an evening with our group of principals and athletic directors.


D-6 Sportsmanship medals were distributed at the annual meeting.  Included in the minutes are the names of nominees that were submitted from each District 6 school.  The following athletes were chosen to receive a monetary scholarship from the District 6 Committee:


PIAA Sportsmanship Award 

Westmont High School will receive the “Missing Piece is You” award and banner for their extraordinary efforts in good sportsmanship.  The Westmont school community is to be commended for making sportsmanship a high priority.  Congratulations! 


A special thank you goes out to the election committee, Central Cambria, United and Juniata Valley, for counting the 2010 election ballots.  The election results are as follows:

Senior High Representatives serving for a one-year term beginning 2010/2011

David Crumrine – Central                              Thomas J. Kakabar – Penns Manor

Kenneth Bussard – Central Cambria              Ralph Cecere Jr. – Portage Area

Curtis Whitesel – Mount Union                      William Marshall – Penn Cambria


Junior High Representatives serving for a two-year term beginning 2010/2011

James Price – Purchase Line

Ray Wotkowski – Forest Hills


Athletic Director’s Representative serving for a two-year term beginning 2010/2012

Dean Rossi - Hollidaysburg


The Next Meeting

The next meeting of the PIAA District 6 Committee will be held on

Monday, May 17, 2010, at the Hollidaysburg Area Senior High School at 3:30 PM.


                                                                                                Respectfully Submitted,

                                                                                  Sherry Montgomery                                                                                                                          Secretary/Treasurer