PRINCIPALS:  Please Share These Minutes With Your Athletic Director

Regular Meeting of PIAA District 6 – April 13, 2004



Call to Order of the April 13, 2004 Meeting

Chairman Wotkowski called the meeting of the District 6 Committee to order at 4:00 PM at the Scotch Valley Country Club. Present were: Ray Wotkowski, Dean Rossi, Al D’Ambrosia, Michael Sakash, Kathy Getz, David Crumrine, Don Hosterman, Jules Dill, Vince Nedimyer, David Heim, Alberta Ake, Gary Jubas, Charles Koren, Thomas Kakabar, James Price, and Kim Struble.


Approval of Minutes

Thomas Kakabar and Vince Nedimyer approved the minutes of the March 23, 2004, on a motion.



David Heim and Kathy Getz reviewed disqualification reports of softball players. Motion was made by Kim Struble and seconded by Thomas Kakabar to accept the forfeit of a softball game between Indian Valley and Penns Valley on March 26, 2004.


Chairman Wotkowski received a letter requesting transfer from District 6 to District 4 from Mifflin County School District.  Motion was made by Michael Sakash and seconded by David Heim to deny their request, with a vote of 0-16.


Financial Reports

On a motion by Dean Rossi and Jules Dill, the District 6 Committee unanimously approved the March Financial Report. 


Motion was made by Jules Dill and Michael Sakash to pay Sherry Montgomery an hourly rate that was agreed upon for 154 additional hours.


Eligibility Hearings

On a motion by Charles Koren and Albert D’Ambrosia, eligibility was granted to a student at Indian Valley to participate in athletics.


Charles Koren and Alberta Ake made a motion to accept a student at Central Cambria to participate in athletics, with a vote of 0-15, Jules Dill abstained from voting.


On a motion by Charles Koren and James Price a Homer Center student was granted eligibility to participate in athletics.


Foreign Exchange Eligibility Hearings

On a motion by Jules Dill and Michael Sakash, eligibility was granted to a foreign exchange student at Lewistown High School to participate in athletics.



Don Hosterman and Michael Sakash made a motion for two sectionals format for AA Wrestling, this would help to eliminate over crowding at the tournament, the District 6 Committee approved this motion with at vote of 16-0.


On a motion by Don Hosterman and Jules Dill a motion was made to hold AA and AAA Wrestling Team Duals on a Saturday, the District 6 Committee approved this motion with a vote of 16-0.


Please note change of date for Baseball Tournaments, brackets will be mailed by May 14th.  The date for A & AA  is Wednesday, June 2, and AAA is Thursday, June 3rd. Any questions contact David Crumrine at Central High  School.


Annual Banquet/Meeting

The Annual Membership Meeting was held at the Scotch Valley Country Club in Hollidaysburg, PA.  Chairman Wotkowski welcomed guests and gave an introduction of District 6 Committee Members; Father James Conrad gave the Invocation.  Brad Cashman went over the proposed Amendments to PIAA Constitution, which included Dues and Enrollment Report, Organization and Authority, Powers and Duties of Board of Directors and Officers and District Committees.  Mr. Cashman also reviewed the new form that will be used for Athletic Transfer Waiver Requests.


The Election Committee and Amendments Ballot Committee consisted of representatives from Claysburg, Marion Center and Huntingdon High Schools. 


The following people will be serving on the District 6 Committee for 2004/2005:

Jules Dill – Central Cambria High School

David Crumrine – Central High School

Albert D’Ambrosia – Penns Valley High School

Michael Sakash – Bellwood-Antis High School

Vince Nedimyer – Altoona Area High School

Thomas Kakabar – Blacklick Valley High School

Dean Rossi – Hollidaysburg Area High School

Ray Wotkowski – Forest Hills High School

James Price – Purchase Line High School

Kim Struble – West Branch High School


The Next Meeting

The next meeting of the PIAA District 6 Committee will be held on Thursday, May 6, 2004, at 3:30 PM at the Hollidaysburg Area High School, Hollidaysburg, PA.


Please note change of date.  June meeting will be held on Wednesday, June 16, 2004, at 10:00 AM at the Cottage Restaurant in Ebensburg.                                                                             


Respectfully Submitted,

                                                                                                Sherry I. Montgomery

                                                                                                Sherry Montgomery